Dunlop Racing had a splendid 2022 on track

Dunlop Sport Maxx Racing’s various regional racing championships came to a head over the past two weekends, following a frenetic year on the South African National Extreme Festival too. All of which means the various series that run exclusively on Dunlop Racing tyres, have now crowned their 2022 champions. 

While it went down to the final round at Zwartkops, Robert Wolk emerged a dominant Global Touring Car champion in his Chemical Logistics Toyota Corolla GTC. Wolk won five of the fourteen races to emerge comfortably clear at the top of a Toyota Corolla GTC championship 1-2-3. He beat Gazoo Racing teammates, consistent rookie sensation Saood Variawa, who took a single win, and triple winner Michael van Rooyen. Fourth placed Bradley Liebenberg also took three wins in an otherwise troubled season in his Hype VW to end fourth. Double race winner Julian van der Watt’s Chemical Logistics Ford Focus GTC, Andrew Rackstraw’s Investchem Audi and Mandla Mdakane’s Gazoo Corolla followed.

The all-VW Polo SupaCup witnessed a season-long scrap, but Leyton Fourie ultimately took six wins to wrap up the championship from Universal Racing teammate Jeffrey Kruger, who won four races through the season. Keegan Campos took one race win en route to the title third in his Campos Transport car, edging double winner Keagan Masters’ Perfect Circle car, Arnold Neveling, Danie van Niekerk, Jean Pierre van der Walt and Jason Campos, who won the final race of the season. Nick Davidson meanwhile took a comfortable SupaCup Masters title in his Stu Davidson Construction SupaCup, from Scotsman Paul Luti and dad Rui Campos.

The CompCare Polo Cup championship was thrilling from end-to-end. Seven drivers arrived at the Zwartkops season finale with a chance to be champion. It was Clinton Bezuidenhout who delivered a perfect weekend in his Stu Davidson Polo in Pretoria adding all three wins to his tally of five, to clinch the title from behind. He beat single race winner, Universal driver Charl Visser, while Jurie Swart won three races en route to fourth in his Bullion IT Polo. Swart beat Universal lad and fellow triple winner Dawie van der Merwe to third by all of a point, with double winner Tate Bishop’s Angri Academy car, maiden season race winner Giordano Lupini’s Bullion IT car, and Squadra Corse lad Nathi Msimanga next up.

Dunlop Sport Maxx also supports several top regional racing classes, including the Gauteng and Cape VW Challenge classes. Class A driver Rory Atkinson was the dominant force in the upcountry Pabar VW Challenge in his BHIT Transport Polo. He beat class winners, C man Ian Walker’s Melo Velo Vivo, and super rookie Hannes Scheepers’ Dainfern Dental Class B Polo to overall honours. Wayne Masters’ Performance Masters car and Design Hut man Stiaan Kriel completed the A podium, while Bevan Williams’ RAM Customs Polo and Elna Croeser’s ATE Brakes car followed Scheepers in Class B. Philip Croeser’s ATE Vivo edged Mark Castel’s similar car to second in Class C.

Moving down to the Cape, it was a similar scenario as Jurie Swart stormed to a dominant overall Alert Engine Parts WP GTi Challenge championship victory in his Class A Summit Racing Polo. He beat Class B lad Tate Bishop’s Angri Racing Jetta 2 and Class C champion Chase Herholdt’s Unlimited Auto NDT Golf 1 GTi in the overall race. Colin Meder’s ITT Polo pipped Simtech Automan driver Marco Busi to Class A runner up honours, while Kyle Wiltshire’s Summit Polo Classic scraped to second in Class B ahead of Ian Kapp’s Hydracor Polo. And Dylan van Eden took second in the all-Golf 1 Class C from Seth van den Abeele’s Summit car.

Moving back upcountry, Dunlop Sport Maxx’ Direzza semi-slick is also the race tyre of choice for the Northern Regions Lotus Cup and Car Care Clinic Superhatch championships. Thomas Falkiner was the delighted Lotus Cup champion after a solid season aboard his ARE Taylon. He defeated Birkin pair Jeffrey Kruger’s design Hut car and N4 Auto craft man Rudi Barnard for top class honours. It was far closer in the Locost class, where Sean Hepburn pulled off a double win aboard his African Packaging car in the season finale as he jumped from third to steal the title lead from Andre du Plessis’ Singulars car , only for du Plessis to strike back on dropped scores. Leet man Davide Favo ended third..

It was also super close in the Car Care Clinic Superhatch chase. Class A driver Andre Dannhauser and his Pro Auto Rubber Opel Corsa emerged overall champion by just a point from Class C winner Devon Piazza-Musso’s Hot 102.7 FM VW Polo. Class B man Nic Martin was another point adrift in his Peugeot. Lenard Archer ended second in Class A in his ACD Welkom Hyundai Getz from Karel Stols’ PTA Noord Toyota Etios. Christiaan van Wyk was Class B runner up in his NBR Karting Ford Figo from Mel Spur’s Car Care Clinic VW Polo. And Francis Aldrich’s Opel Corsa took second in Class C from Freddy Watkins’ 4Js VW Polo.

The racing tyre of choice for the biggest series in South African circuit racing, Dunlop provides full on-site service and backup for SA’s top drivers and teams at all National and Northern Regions Racing Festivals. The lads meticulously prepare each and every Dunlop Direzza race tyre across the Global Touring Car, GTC SupaCup and CompCare Polo Cup grids, and more too. The pole sitters in each of those national classes also win R2,500 cash for their efforts, while the lovely Dunlop Ladies bring that extra pomp and ceremony to the splendidly colourful racing affair. 


“Motorsport improves the breed,” Dunlop’s Sumitomo Rubber SA CEO Lubin Ozoux concludes. “Through our motorsport partners ATS, we supply tyres, and support competitors in the country’s top national circuit racing Global Touring Cars, SupaCup and CompCare Polo Cup, as well as in several leading regional classes. “We are proud of all our 2022 champions; pole sitters and race winners and we salute their racing successes. 


“Racing proves Dunlop’s Sport Maxx advantage as a performance tyre brand beyond doubt. “Now we look forward to further leveraging Dunlop’s advantage through South African racing into the future and we cannot wait for another brilliant year on track in 2023.”