Atkinson, Scheepers & Walker clinch Pabar crowns

Rory Atkinson has clinched the 2022 Pabar VW Challenge championship with a dominant performance at the Red Star Raceway’s penultimate round races on Saturday. Atkinson, Hannes Scheepers, and Ian Walker all three clinched their respective class A, B and C titles at the Delmas races.

With 20 entries in Class B, the action was split into two with Classes A and C racing together and Class B alone. Qualifying close in the all-Polo 6R Class A as Atkinson sneaked pole by a couple of hundredths of a second in his BHIT Transport car from Design Hut man Stiaan Kriel, with Wayne and Bevin Masters both within a second. Walker took a comfy Class C Pole from Yotti Nousias and Jan Spamers.

Hannes Scheepers made it a championship leader’s clean sweep in the Class B session, when he put his Dainfern Dental car on pole from Elna Croeser’s Ate Polo, Bucketlist young gun Anthony Pretorius, Hot 102.7 FM lass Charisse van der Merwe, Karshin Naidoo, Stelio Nousias and Bevan Williams.

Atkinson got ahead at the start and stayed there to take the opening race from Kriel, Wayne and Bevin Masters. Waldie Meintjes, Derick Smalberger, Sam Dale, Mike Barbaglia, Dewald Theron and Mydi Mfana followed. Behind them, Ian Walker trotted to Class C honours to wrap up his 2022 class title in his Mello Velo Vivo, from Ate man Philip Croeser, Jan Spamers, Mark Castel, Dino Smit and Charl Andersen.

The weekend’s championship leader form was interrupted in the Class B race when Elna Croeser jumped Hannes Scheepers to take the win, with Anthony Pretorius and Bevan Williams next up from the impressive Ross Butt, Karshin Naidoo, Stelio Nousias, Tinahe Ncube, Jacques Hayes and Mitch Coetzee. Francois van Zyl was next up from Lindsay Clur, Elio Muzzulini, newcomers Michael Allers and Adriaan de Beer and Roberto Cosani.

It was more of the same up front in race 2 as Rory Atkinson completed a Class A grand slam weekend to clinch the overall title with a maximum points haul with a dominant display over
Stiaan Kriel and Wayne Masters. Waldie Meintjes. Sam Dale, Mike Barbaglia, Dewald Theron and Mydi Mfana followed.

Ian Walker was made to work for his Class C grand slam, as newcomer Yotti Nousias got ahead early on. But Yotti hit trouble later on, to allow Jan Spamers up to second from Philip Croeser, Mark Castel, Dino Smit and Nousias.

The second Class B race not only delivered a second winner, but a delighted Bevan Williams took his maiden victory in his RAM Customs Polo. He held Elna Croeser, Ross Butt, Charisse van der Merwe and Anthony Pretorius off, with Jacques Hayes, Stelio Nousias, Tinahe Ncube, Michael Allers, Mo Karodia in pursuit. Francois van Zyl, Roberto Cosani, Lindsay Clur and Elio Muzzulini followed.

All of which leaves Rory Atkinson in an unassailable overall championship lead over new C and B class champions, Ian Walker and Hannes Scheepers now split by just one point. Class A men, Stiaan Kriel and Wayne Masters follow, from Class B quartet, ladies Elna tied with Charisse van der Merwe in sixth, Bevan Williams and Anthony Pretorius.

All of which makes it a fight for the minor placings at the Zwartkops Pabar VV Challenge season finale on Saturday 12 November.