Round 2 of Historic Tour deliver spectacular historic car action

Round 2 of Historic Tour deliver spectacular historic car action

Round two of the 2018 Historic Tour provided spectacle, close competition and some surprising results at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday (April 7).

Heading up the day’s programme were two races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars. The opening heat saw a huge five-car dice for the lead, eventually resolved in favour of Ben Morgenrood (Ford Mustang), closely followed by Peter Lindenberg (Ford Mustang), Jonathan du Toit  (Chev Nova), Lee Thompson (Ford Galaxie) and Jeffrey Kruger (Plymouth Baracuda). Morgenrood, Lindenberg and Du Toit took the podium places again in race two, but Thompson’s Galaxie stopped in a cloud of smoke, which gave Kruger the fourth place.

Lady racer Robyn Kruger (Alfa GT) won the Under Two-litre category from Alan Poulter (Volvo 122S) and Roger Houston (Alfa Romeo Giulietta). Kruger won the next race as well, followed by Ben van der Westhuizen (Lotus Cortina) and Poulter.

The opening SKF Pre-1966 Little Giants race went to Keith van Heerden (D-Type Jaguar), followed by Ishmael Baloyi (TAR GSM Dart) and Andre’ de Kock (TAR GSM Dart). Van Heerden repeated the feat in race two, this time ahead of Christopher Carlise-Kitz (Ford Anglia) and Baloyi.

The races for Pre-1990 Sports and GT cars both went to Larry Wilford (Genie Lola T70), leading home Jonathan du Toit (Lola T70). The respective final podium places were taken by Phillip Pantazis (Nissan 240Z) and Richard Schubart (Porsche RSR).

Colin Ellison took his large Ford Fairlane to win the first Marlboro Crane Hire Historic Saloon Car race, followed by Deon van Vuuren (Mazda R100 Rotary) and Paige Lindenberg (Ford Fairlane). Race two went to Phillip Pantazis in his IMSA Datsun 240Z, ahead of Ellison and Van Vuuren.

Championship leader Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Lotus) took both the LEET Lotus Challenge races from Rob Gearing (Birkin 7), with Thomas Falkiner (Adaptive Resource Taylon) and Johan Nel (Birkin 7) taking turns in the respective third places.

Both the Formula Monoposto races went to Louis van der Merwe (McCarthy VW Witbank Swift 92), followed by Mac Odendaal (CRS Auto DAW) and Sean Harrington (Harger Projects Ray).

Colin Ellison (Ralt RT4 Mazda) won the first Historic Single Seater race ahead of Neil Lobb (Chevron B29), and Paul Manegold (Pilbeam FF2000). Rui Campos (March 76B Mazda) won the next heat from Lobb and AJ Kernick (Reynard F3).

Andrew Horne took his Xena Chemicals Van Diemen to the opening Formula Ford Kent race victory, followed over the finish line by David Jermy (Lime Chilli Van Diemen) and Dean Venter (Turnfab Mygale). Jermy won the second time around, ahead of Venter and Jonathan Nash (Turnfab Swift).

The Charlies Super Spar Historic Pursuit handicap events saw the day’s overall victory going to Rob van Aarle (Ford Escort 1300), followed by Danny Kloes (Alfa Romeo GTV) and Werner Hartzenberg (Porsche 928S).

Racing by invitation, the Bridgestone BMW Club Racing contingent added much spice to proceedings. Lorenzo Gualtieri (F&B Auto BMW F30) won both the races, with David M Coetzee (SAV Speed BMW 328i Turbo) and Paulo Louriero (Tune Tech BMW M3) swapping the respective second and third places.

The next round of this year’s Historic Tour will be held at the Phakisa Raceway on Saturday, May 19.

Story by Andre de Kok – The Citizen

aBr Banner Promotion 2018-2019

Click to view ACTIONaBr now!

Subscribe to Hotwire Today

Automotive Export Manual 2018