Thed Björk and Polestar Cyan Racing crowned World Champions

Thed Björk and Polestar Cyan Racing crowned World Champions

Thed Björk and Polestar Cyan Racing made history on Friday 01 December to claim two FIA World Touring Car Championship titles in the season finale at Losail International Circuit, Qatar.

Thed Björk has become the first-ever Swedish racing World Champion as Volvo Cars, Polestar and Cyan Racing claim their maiden motorsport world titles.

"To become the first-ever Swedish racing World Champion is something I have dreamt about since I started racing! I can't put words to my feelings right now but this is by far the greatest moment of my racing career. The season finale went according to our plans and I express a massive thank you to everyone in the team, they are as much World Champions as I am," said Björk.

Nicky Catsburg ended the season on the podium with third position in the final race of 2017 as four-time WTCC champion Yvan Muller also brought vital points to the team from both races.

"A massive thank you to everyone in the team and congratulations to Thed, he is a very worthy champion. I am very happy to see this outcome after the struggles we had at the beginning of the weekend. I had a good final race and to end the season with a podium feels great," said Catsburg.

"Thed has really earned this world title and the team has done a great job this season. We had a good final race weekend and we managed to fulfil the goals we had set up ahead of it. I am proud of everyone in the team," said Muller.

Two flawless races in Qatar saw Thed Björk finishing the season as drivers' champion by 28.5 points over title rival Norbert Michelisz, and Polestar Cyan Racing as manufacturers' champions by the same margin over Honda.

"We entered the championship last year with a five-year plan to become World Champions. We did it in just two years. We have exceeded all of our expectations and goals this season. Thed Björk has done an awesome job this season and is a worthy champion. The team has put down thousands and thousands of hours to claim the world title, I can't thank them enough. This is the proudest moment in the history of our team and I am so proud to be able to say that we are the World Champions!" said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.

WTCC Race of Qatar

Circuit: Losail International Circuit

Length: 5.38 km

Lap record (WTCC): 2:01.628 (López)


Race 1 - Top 5

1 Tom Chilton Citroën C-Elysée 10 laps

2 Mehdi Bennani Citroën C-Elysée +2.175

3 Kevin Gleason Lada Vesta +6.178

4 John Filippi Citroën C-Elysée +7.054

5 Thed Björk Volvo S60 +7.571

6 Yvan Muller Volvo S60 +7.945

8 Nicky Catsburg Volvo S60 +9.248

Race 2 - Top 5

1 Esteban Guerrieri Honda Civic 12 laps

2 Rob Huff Citroën C-Elysée +3.708

3 Nicky Catsburg Volvo S60 +7.319

4 Thed Björk Volvo S60 +7.466

5 Tom Chilton Citroën C-Elysée +8.785

7 Yvan Muller Volvo S60 +11.459

Final Championship Standings

Drivers - Top 5

1 Thed Björk Volvo S60 283.5 pts - CHAMPION

2 Norbert Michelisz Honda Civic 255 (-28.5)

3 Tom Chilton Citroën C-Elysée 248.5 (-35)

4 Esteban Guerrieri Honda Civic 241 (-42.5)

5 Nicky Catsburg Volvo S60 238.5 (-45)

9 Néstor Girolami Volvo S60 112 (-171.5)

15 Yvan Muller Volvo S60 16 (-267.5)


1 Volvo 908.5 pts - CHAMPIONS

2 Honda 880 (-28.5)

aBr Banner Promotion 2018-2019

Click to view ACTIONaBr now!

Subscribe to Hotwire Today