TRIB Joins Recircle Awards Nominations Committee

TRIB Joins Recircle Awards Nominations Committee

Valebridge Media Services (VMS) have announced the appointment of the Nominations Committee for the inaugural Recircle Awards 2021, the recently launched awards event recognizing sustainable innovation, production processes, management and services within the tyre retreading and recycling industries.

Ten-Strong Panel of Experts Revealed

The specially constituted Nominations Committee, consisting of the respective editors of Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling plus a further eight individuals from the global tyre retreading and recycling industries selected according to their independent status and their acknowledged expertise within their respective fields, is made up as follows:


  • David Wilson - Publisher, Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling

Committee Members

  • Wilma Dierkes - Associate Professor Sustainable Elastomer Systems (SES), University of Twente
  • Guido Gambassi - Institutional Relations and Public Affairs Officer - AIRP
  • Daniel Rojas Enos - General Manager of the Chilean Association for Tyre Retreading and Renovation (ARNEC)
  • Liana Shaw - Publisher and Editor of SA TREADS Digital
  • Michael Schwaemmlein - Technical Director of the German Tyre Dealers and Vulcanisers’ Association (BRV) and Technical Secretary BIPAVER
  • Ewan Scott - Editor, Tyre & Rubber Recycling
  • Valerie Shulman - Secretary General of the European Tyre Recycling Association (ETRA)
  • David Stevens - Managing Director, Tire Retread & Repair Information Bureau (TRIB)
  • Martin von Wolfersdorff - Wolfersdorff Consulting Berlin

The role of the Nominations Committee will be to select a short list of five candidates for each of the 14 awards for which the voting process will be open to the general public. The Committee will select their short list from the many nominations currently being received, and will base their judgement on the number of nominations received, the strength of the supporting arguments given by the nominating parties, as well their own expert knowledge of the individual nominees.

Nominations for the Recircle Awards will close on November 13, 2020, and the Short List will be announced on November 30, 2020.

The 14 award categories which are open to the public vote are as follows:

  • Best Tread Rubber Supplier
  • Best Retreading Equipment & Accessory Supplier
  • Best Tyre Recycling Industry Supplier
  • Best Casing & Tyre Disposal Services Provider
  • Best Tyre Derived Recycled Product
  • Best Retreading Industry Innovation
  • Best Tyre Recycling Innovation
  • Retread Industry Fleet Award
  • Best Publicity Campaign
  • Employee of the Year
  • Business Innovation Award
  • Best Tyre Retreader
  • Best Tyre Recycler
  • Best Company Director

Details of the qualifying criteria for these awards can be viewed on the Recircle Awards website at www.recircleawards.com

“We are delighted to be able to announce such a strong team of judges for the Recircle Awards,” commented David Wilson, Chairman of the Nominations Committee and Publisher of Retreading Business and Tyre & Rubber Recycling. Our aim was to put together a panel of independent experts from journalistic, trade association, and independent consultancy backgrounds, who could offer a balanced and authoritative global perspective on the merits of nominations from across the tyre retreading and recycling sectors. I think we have been successful in achieving that goal.”

“I am honoured to be invited to lend my voice to this exciting new initiative – the Recircle Awards,” commented Liana Shaw, Publisher of SA TREADS Digital. “Tyre retreaders and waste tyre recyclers are often overlooked for the critical role they play in the tyre industry. This is a wonderful way for us to acknowledge their contribution to the industry.”

“To be part of the Nominations Committee of the Recircle Awards gives me chance to bring innovative and engaged companies and persons to the stage they deserve to be at. Because that is what our business needs!” added Michael Schwaemmlein, Technical Director of the BRV.

“I’m delighted to have been invited to be involved in the Recircle Awards because this is an extraordinary opportunity to present our industry as an active and key player in the circular economy, concluded Daniel Rojas Enos, General Manager of ARNEC. “Ideally, tyre producers should fully understand that retreading is their hallmark in the development of a circular economy. With that in mind, it was time to showcase our industry, recognising the best of us.”